Friday, November 25, 2011

Herbie Hancock: Magic Windows (1981)

Recorded in 1981 and featuring the following sidemen: Ray Parker Jr. (guitar), Sheila E (percussion), Sylvester (vocals), Michael Brecker (tenor sax), Alphonse Mouzon (drums) and Adrian Belew (guitar). This is a very nice, light funk/fusion date recorded just before he went on a more gritty path with 'Future Shock', which featured the mega-hit 'Rockit'.
Amongst the other synthesisers employed on this album, an Alpha Syntauri (enhanced Apple ][ computer) was used for some of the tracks. Liner-notes on the CD version, from "Jazz Originals Series", say "There are no strings, or other orchestral instruments on this album. All of these orchestrations are performed by Herbie Hancock on various synthesizers."
1 Magic Number 7:21
2 Tonight's The Night 6:28
3 Everybody's Broke 7:05
4 Help Yourself 6:40
5 Satisfied With Love 6:28
6 The Twilight Clone 8:15
Hotfile @320K