Wednesday, December 8, 2010

Aleksey Kozlov: Lonely Dandy (2010)

After years of making an impact on the Soviet Union's jazz underground, saxophonist Alexey Kozlov formed the Arsenal in the early '70s. The band, which became one of the most popular jazz-rock groups in the Soviet Union, released a number of LPs from 1976 to 1991. These were later collected and reissued by Boheme Music as a four-CD box set, Scorched By Time. In 1986, Kozlov became a regular host of TV and radio programs on jazz and rock history and in 1989 he published one of Russia's first-ever objective histories of western rock music, entitled Rock Music: Roots and Development. The '90s brought some new collaborations and musical directions for Kozlov, who began to work with new age styles, as well as undertaking a critically acclaimed collaboration with the Shostakovich String Quartet. The album which resulted from that collaboration, Alexey Kozlov and the Shostakovich String Quartet, was released by Boheme Music in 2000.
Lonely Dandy is the latest release of Kozlov from 2010, the label is Melodia.
01. Invisibse Shadow
02. The Child
03. Air Castle
04. Good Sign
05. One More Year
06. Summertime Elegie
07. Holiday
08. Insomnia
09. Mind Stream
10. The Romance
11. Lonely Dandy
12. Glamour Happy End
Hotfile / Uploading @ 320K