Thursday, December 9, 2010

Kevin Hays Trio: You've Got A Friend (2009)

With longstanding band-mates Doug Weiss and Bill Stewart by his side, Kevin's brilliant new release on JazzEyes ‘You’ve Got a Friend’ features luminous re-workings of Simon and Garfunkel’s “Bridge Over Troubled Water”, McCartney’s “Fool on The Hill” and the CD’s opening title track, Carole King’s radiant classic ‘You’ve Got a Friend’. Several new arrangements follow including Monk’s masterpiece ‘Think of One’, probing meditations on both Bob Dorough’s whimsical “Nothing Like You” and the Tobias classic “Sweet and Lovely” and concluding with a brilliant harmonic revision of Charlie Parker’s be-bop classic, “Cheryl”.
‘...Few have Hays's melodic charms and sense of style.’ (The New Yorker Magazine ‘Best of 2006’)
1. You've Got a Friend 8:12
2. Bridge Over Troubled Water 7:45
3. Fool on the Hill 5:40
4. Think of One 6:40
5. Sweet and Lovely 8:32
6. Nothing Like You 7:08
7. Cheryl
You've Got A Friend
Rapidshare / Hotfile / Uploading @ 320K