Wednesday, January 5, 2011

Andy Sheppard: Movements in Colour (2010)

After featuring on a dozen albums with Carla Bley for WATT/ECM, Movements In Colour is Andy Sheppard s first leader album for ECM. The British saxophonist heads a specially-assembled international quintet in a program of buoyant and strongly melodic self-penned pieces. Sheppard s elegant saxophone and the strongly-contrasting guitars of Paricelli and Aarset are lifted up by the rhythmic drive of Arild Andersen s muscular bass and the crisp, dynamic tabla of Kuljit Bhamra.
01. La Tristesse du Roi (Sheppard) 14:48
02. Bing (Sheppard) 6:00
03. Nave Nave Moe (Sheppard) 12:15
04. Ballarina (Sheppard) 3:43
05. May Song (Sheppard) 6:48
06. We Shall Not Go to Market Today (Sheppard) 8:06
07. International Blue (Sheppard) 5:41
Andy Sheppard (soprano and tenor saxophones);
John Parricelli (acoustic and electric guitars);
Eivind Aarset (guitar, electronics);
Arild Andersen (double bass, electronics);
Kuljit Bharmra (tabla, percussion)
Movements in Colour
Hotfile / Uploading @ 320K