Wednesday, January 12, 2011

David Sanborn: Pearls (1995)

David Sanborn is joined on this CD by an orchestra arranged by Johnny Mandel for a set of music dominated by melodic versions of standards. Sanborn does not get all that far away from the themes (which include "Try a Little Tenderness," "Smoke Gets in Your Eyes," "For All We Know," "This Masquerade" and a very emotional "Everything Must Change" in addition to a few newer songs) but his sound is so soulful and full of passion that he does not really need to improvise much to make his point. It's a fine change of pace for the highly influential altoist. ~ Scott Yanow, All Music Guide
01. Willow Weep For Me
02. Try a Little Tenderness
03. Smoke Gets In Your Eyes
04. Pearls
05. For All We Know
06. Come Rain or Come Shine
07. This Masquerade
08. Everything Must Change
09. Superstar
10. Nobody Does It Better
David Sanborn - alto saxophone
Oleta Adams - vocals, keyboards
Little Jimmy Scott- vocals
Don Grolnick - keyboards
Kenny Barron - keyboards
Christian McBride - acoustic bass
Marcus Miller - bass guitar
Mark Egan - fretless bass
Steve Gadd - drums
Don Alias - percussion
Hotfile / Uploading @ 320K