Friday, April 1, 2011

Mark Harrison Quintet: Just Add Water (2010)

The Mark Harrison Quintet raise the bar again with their third CD release, "Just Add Water". Keyboardist/composer Mark Harrison creates a very distinctive contemporary jazz and funk mix, again assisted by some of L.A.'s finest players. From the hard funk of "Get In Line", to the gentle lyricism of "Conundrum", to the joyous shuffle groove of "So Far So Good"...this CD truly has something for all fans of contemporary jazz!
Mark’s goals for the Quintet and for their latest CD are very simple. “I want to chart our own territory in the jazz world, by creating substantive and interesting music that is accessible to the ear of the listener”, says Mark, “I’m thrilled when people come to our shows who are not diehard jazz fans, and yet they still feel our grooves and hum our tunes when they leave”.
01. Get In Line [04:51]
02. So To Speak [05:27]
03. Conundrum [06:05]
04. So Far So Good [06:11]
05. Just Add Water [06:57]
06. Gotta Keep Movin' [06:03]
07. Snakes And Ladders [05:26]
08. Sinaloa Shuffle 2010 [05:26]
09. Take My Hand [04:12]
10. Pacific Time [04:48]
Mark Harrison - piano, organ and synthesizers,
Rick Rossi - saxophones,
Mark Chosak - guitar,
Steve Billman - bass,
Matt Starr - drums.
Just Add Water
Hotfile / Uploading @ 320K