Monday, March 14, 2011

Dave Stryker Organ Quartet: Keystone (2010)

Dave Stryker expands his organ trio of SCCD 31679 “One For Reedus” with the addition of Stephen Riley on tenor sax (and Quincy Davis -drums replacing Steve Williams) here on his latest album. Stryker turned this time-tested traditional swinging formation into a cooking 21st century version.
On Stryker’s 2008 release “Strike Up The Band” (SCCD 31637), Owen Cordle of JazzTimes commented “…. A fine album, it catches Stryker building long, clichй-free solos. … The title track sets a high artistic standard for the album, with everyone in a thoughtful frame of mind.”
1. KEYSTONE (Dave Stryker) 8:25
2. CAN'T BUY ME LOVE (Lennon - McCartney) 8:48
3. SENTINELESE (Dave Stryker) 8:29
4. LADY SINGS THE BLUES (Holiday - Nichols) 5:24
5. THE ROSE (FOR MIKE ROSINSKY) (Dave Stryker) 6:42
6. FIRST STRIKE (Dave Stryker) 9:19
7. TENDERLY (Walter Lloyd Gross) 9:59
8. WATCH WHAT HAPPENS (Michel Legrand) 12:39
Dave Stryker (guitar)
Stephen Riley (tenor sax)
Jared Gold (B3 Hammond organ)
Steve Williams (drums)
Hotfile / Uploading @ 320K