Tuesday, March 1, 2011

Mike Miller Quintet: World Goes Round (2008)

Mike Miller is a musician and composer who is extremely difficult to categorize. He's played Jazz with Chick Corea (Grammy Nomination 1994), George Duke, the Yellowjackets, Vinnie Coliautaand Peter Erskine. He has played rock/pop with Gino Vanelli, Bette Midler, Brian Wilson and Brenda Russell. He has played R + B with Tom Scott and the L. A. Express, Philip Bailey and Natalie Cole. He has played Frank Zappa's music with Banned From Utopia, (Zappa Alumni Band) the Seattle, Wa. and Portland Ore. Symphonies, and the Israeli Philharmonic. He has played contemporary orchestral music with the L. A. Philharmonic, and film soundtracks with Mark Mothersbaugh (Devo) and Hans Zimmer.
His compositions have been heard on his own releases as well as those of Kevyn Lettau, the Fowler Brothers Air Pocket, Banned From Utopia, Brandon Fields, and The Yellowjackets (grammy nomination 1983.)
He and his wife, writer/performer/composer Sandra Tsing Loh, composed and performed the score for an Oscar winning (1996) documentary, "Breathing Lessons" and Mike continues his musical growth and development with his new group, the Mike Miller Quintet.
01. Here's Another Number (You May Not Care For)
02. Let Me Like You
03. Mambo Jambo
04. My Back Yard
05. Piano Prelude #2
06. Misfit
07. Three in Three
08. Loop "E"
09. Walking the Dog (Promenade)
10. World Goes Round (Part 1)
11. The Good Guys
12. World Goes Round (Part 2)
Personnel: Mike Miller (guitar, banjo, cavaquinho, percussion); Albert Wing (clarinet, tenor saxophone); Walt Fowler (trumpet, flugelhorn); Jimmy Johnson (bass guitar); Chad Wackerman (drums)