Thursday, March 24, 2011

Jonathan Kreisberg: Shadowless (2011)

From the band's entrance on the first cut of SHADOWLESS, the intentions are very clear -- This is Jazz as an evolving artform. The respect for the tradition is deep but the compositions stretch the possibilities of form, the sounds challenge the possibilities of the "acoustic" jazz group, and the improvisations reflect a working band that has electrified audiences on five continents over the past few years. The result is a rythmically deep and lyrically compelling journey.
"On a conceptual level, i wanted the disc to have a strong impact...the effect of a bright light . After the smoky, late evening feel of last year's NIGHT SONGS (criss cross), I wanted SHADOWLESS to wake people up."
Featuring Jonathan's touring band,--- members Will Vinson on Saxophone, Henry Hey on piano, Matt Penman on bass, and Mark Ferber on drums-- on tunes such as the powerful opener "Twenty One", and the otherwordly groove of "Stir the Stars", the quintet is pared down to a quartet on the hauntingly lush "Long, Like a Mercury Day", a trio on the deceptively grooving romp on "nice work if you can get it", and an intimate yet exciting Hey/Kreisberg duo reading of the title cut.
As a guitarist, Jonathan Kreisberg has been steadily building his name as the one of the instruments brightest young stars. He has Toured and recorded extensively with his own groups as well artists such as Dr. Lonnie Smith, Joe Locke, Ari Hoenig and Stefano Dibattista.
"Jonathan Kreisberg is a great musician whose playing and writing always tell a story. His formidable technique and intellect never get in the way, but only serve the agenda of the heart." -Joe Locke
1. Twenty One (7:57)
2. Stir the Stars (5:50)
3. Shadowless (5:47)
4. Zembekiko* (7:07)
5. Long, Like a Mercury Day (7:04)
6. The Common Climb (8:40)
7. Defying Gravity (3:27)
8. Nice Work If You Can Get It (8:26)
Jonathan Kreisberg - Guitar
Will Vinson - Saxophone
Henry Hey - Piano
Matt Penman - Bass
Mark Ferber - Drums