Monday, March 28, 2011

The Old Gits Blues Band: Brand New Day (2010)

Howlin' Wolf is credited with the much-used line "you cannot play the blues unless you have suffered". Whilst it is true that living in Britain today cannot be compared with the cotton fields of the Southern USA in the early 1900's this does not mean we do not suffer in some other way.
The challenge was to create an album that respects the traditional blues songs from the past while bringing them up to date and ready for a new and younger audience. This challenge was met and exceeded with Brand New Day.
The blues have taken a long and meandering road over its history, from Mississippi, via Memphis and Chicago, over to the UK in the sixties and then back to new audiences in The USA. Brand New Day is following this rich tradition by keeping the blues alive and finding its place in the twenty-first century.
01. Brand New Day
02. Gambling Man
03. Help Me
04. Piss Head Blues
05. I'd Rather Go Blind
06. Killin' Floor
07. Born Under A Bad Sign
08. Work Together
09. Smokestack Lightnin'
10. Shakin' All Over
Brand New Day
Hotfile / Uploading @ 320K