Monday, March 14, 2011

Wayne Escoffery: Uptown (2009)

Tenor saxophonist Wayne Escoffery brings it all back home on his latest release "Uptown," available now from Posi-Tone. With a strong program of new originals, by Escoffery and guitarist Avi Rothbard, and a few familiar melodies, the album also showcases strong showings by organist Gary Versace and drummer Jason Brown who really keeps the session in the pocket. Avid listeners will certainly agree that the album really swings and is a hard hitting performance that should encourage jazz enthusiasts to go "Uptown" again and again with amazement and delight.
1 No Desert Rothbard 05:33
2 I Got It Bad Ellington 06:07
3 Cross Bronx Rothbard 05:33
4 You Know I Care Pearson 05:26
5 Road from Eilat Escoffery, Versace 01:04
6 Gulf of Aqaba Escoffery 05:55
7 Nu Soul Escoffery 04:41
8 Maya's Waltz Rothbard 08:44
9 Easy Now Escoffery 02:14
Wayne Escoffery Saxophone
Gary Versace Organ
Avi Rothbard Guitar
Jason Brown Drums
Fileserve / Depositfiles @ 320K