Tuesday, March 15, 2011

Joe Morris: Camera (2010)

For this follow-up to 2009's Colorfield, guitarist Joe Morris brings together Katt Hernandez, Junko Fujiwara Simons, and his longtime collaborator Luther Grey for adense textural landscape of sliding strings, ripping guitar, and pointillist percussion.
Morris explains, The title comes from a connection I feel to the assembly of tonesin film and photography ... there is an attraction to the sense of time stoppingand to the vagaries of tones in images that are of an instant ... As improvisingmusicians we function somewhat like a camera, displaying the moment in sound.
1 Person in a Place
2 Street Scene
3 Angle of Incidence
4 Evocative Shadow
5 Patterns on Faces
6 Reflected Object
Joe Morris (guitar);
Katt Hernandez (violin);
Junko Fujiwara Simons (cello);
Luther Gray (drums)
HotfileFileserve @ 320K