Saturday, November 27, 2010

David Sanborn: As We Speak (1982)

It was about this time in his career that one sensed David Sanborn was getting a bit tired of the formula he was using on his records. However, his great popularity kept him from changing direction much. As usual, the highly influential altoist blows his heart out over a lot of funky rhythms on As We Speak, but surprisingly, he switches to his less notable soprano on four of the nine tunes. Bassist Marcus Miller is a key force in the background, leading the expanded rhythm sections through some pop-oriented material that is appealing but not too substantial. ~ Scott Yanow
01. Port Of Call 04:28
02. Better Believe It 03:31
03. Rush Hour 04:43
04. Over And Over 04:12
05. Back Again 03:52
06. As We Speak 04:17
07. Straight To The Heart 03:26
08. Rain On Christmas 04:47
09. Love Will Come Some Day 06:17
Personnel: David Sanborn (soprano & alto saxophones); Michael Sembello (vocals, guitar); Bill Evans (saxophone); Robert A. Martin (French horn); Bob Mintzer (bass clarinet); Spike (IRT strings, synthesizer); James "Sugar Bear" Skelton (Hammond B-3 organ); George Duke (Clavinet); Don Freeman (keyboards, synthesizer); Marcus Miller (synthesizer, bass); Lance Ong (synthesizer); Buzz Feiten (guitar); Omar Hakim (drums, tambourine); Malando Gassama, Paulinho Da Costa (percussion); Cruz Baca Sembello (background vocals).
As We Speak
Hotfile / Uploading @ 320K