Friday, November 19, 2010

Taylor Eigsti: Daylight at Midnight (2010)

Concord Jazz is proud to announce the release of Daylight at Midnight, the newest album from the pianist/composer Taylor Eigsti. This innovative collection includes original Eigsti compositions, as well as other remarkable musical renditions by composers such as Nick Drake, Imogen Heap, Elliot Smith and Rufus Wainwright. The 11-track collection marks Eigsti's third Concord Jazz release.On Daylight at Midnight, Eigsti continues to challenge the norms of what constitutes jazz today. While Eigsti pays full respect to the jazz tradition, he also exercises his passion for melodies of esteemed songwriters from his generation and explores a variety of music that piques his curiosity. In this collection, he not only finds resonance in the aforementioned top-tier, pop-oriented composers... but also brings to light a doubleheader of personal revelation: 20th-century Catalonian classical pianist Federico Mompou and up-and-coming vocalist/songwriter Becca Stevens, who sings five of the 11 tunes and adds her own flavors of the ukulele and charango. As fitting for an adventurous repertoire, the young pianist augments his unique and lyrical style with the Fender Rhodes, Rhodes PianoBass, Wurlitzer electric piano and Mellotron samples to add color and texture to the tunes.
Tracklist01. Daylight
02. Magnolia
03. The Art Teacher
04. The Water
05. Pink Moon
06. Little Bird
07. Secreto
08. Chaos
09. Between The Bars
10. Speaking Song
11. Midnight After Noon
Daylight at Midnight
Hotfile / Uploading @ 320K