Sunday, November 14, 2010

Steve Kuhn Trio: Love Walked In (1998/2009)

Pianist Steve Kuhn has played a wide variety of music throughout his career, including his own intriguing originals and collaborations with Sheila Jordan. This set, a straight-ahead swinger with bassist Buster Williams and drummer Bill Stewart, should greatly satisfy bop-oriented jazz fans, for it finds Kuhn coming up with consistently fresh ideas in a conventional but far from exhausted setting. Whether digging into Duke Jordan's "No Problem," "Love Walked In," a passionate version of "Autumn Leaves," or even "Sunny," Kuhn is heard throughout at the top of his game. The presence of Williams and Stewart in supporting but stimulating roles clearly inspired Steve Kuhn, making this an easily recommended date. ~ Scott Yanow
01. No Problem
02. Land Of The Living Dead
03. Sunny
04. Love Walked In
05. Saharan
06. Prelude To A Kiss
07. All Alone
08. Autumn Leaves
09. Lines
10. You've Changed
Personnel: Steve Kuhn (piano); Buster Williams (bass); Bill Stewart (drums)
Love Walked In
Hotfile / Uploading @ 320K