Monday, November 22, 2010

Roberto Gatto: Live at Casa Del Jazz (2009)

Roberto Gatto is an Italian jazz drummer, born in Rome. His professional debut was in 1975 with the Trio di Roma (Danilo Rea piano, Enzo Pietropaoli bass). He has been playing all over the world with his own groups as well as together with international artist. All of the groups in his name are charaterized, in addition to first class technique and a refined research of timbre, by a great "warmth", typical of the mediterranean culture. This surely makes Roberto Gatto one of the most interesting and original drummer and composer in Europe and the world.
As a leader he has recorded the follows albums: Notes (feat. M.Brecker), Ask (feat. J.Scofield), Luna, Jungle Three, Improvvisi, L'Avventura, 7.., Sing Sing Sing, Roberto Gatto plays Rugantino, Deep, Gatto-Rea Live at Villa Celimontana, Roberto Gatto Special Quintet "A tribute to Miles Davis Quintet 64-68, Gatto-Bollani Gershwin and more, Traps, Roberto Gatto Omaggio al progressive rock, The music next door. Roberto Gatto has also played in numerous pop albums of international artist: Mina, Gino Paoli, Lucio Dalla, Pino Daniele,Ivano Fossati, Domenico Modugno, Ornella Vanoni,Teresa de Sio.
He also work and recorded with Ennio Morricone, Armando Trovajoli, Riz Ortolani, Piero Umiliani, Franco Piersanti, Lalo Shifrin
In the last few years he also composed music for films. Togheter with Battista Lena he wrote the music who won five Davide di Donatello: Mignon e partita, Verso Sera, Il grande cocomero.With Maurizio Giammarco he composed the music of Nudo di donna by Nino Manfredi.
01. Deep (6:07)
02. Dado's Theme (5:03)
03. Ode To Max Roach (2:59)
04. Lysergic (5:22)
05. Ostile (5:42)
06. Ode To Ed Blackwell (2:01)
07. Octagonal (5:16)
08. Canzone (Woodie Song) (5:27)
09. Ode To Elvin Jones (1:59)
10. A Night In Salzau (6:54)
11. Catch The Drums (6:49)
12. Valse Laconique (4:59)
Hotfile / Uploading @ 320K