Wednesday, November 17, 2010

Erik Truffaz: In Between (2010)

Erik Truffaz has covered a lot of ground - both literally and metaphorically – since releasing his first album on the Blue Note label in 1997.
Over the course of a single decade -and after selling a total of 400,000 albums – the trumpeter’s life has been a blur of planes, trains and automobiles transporting him from concert to concert on his never-ending world tours. This naturally led him to new artistic landscapes and fruitful encounters.
The Erik Truffaz Quartet is above all a collective, a sound, a group dynamic. Starting in 1997 the group was Marcello Giuliani on bass, Marc Erbetta on drums, and Patrick Muller on keyboards for a seminal album, “Out of a Dream”, on the legendary Blue Note label.
In June 2010, Benoit Corboz takes Patrick Muller’s place, after having been the studio sound engineer for the group, starting with “The Dawn”. A new tribute to slow, the group takes on silence and stretching things out.
Sophie Hunger, with her marvellous voice, is invited to join the quartet on two tracks (a Dylan cover and an original composition). Marcello Giuliani brings his double bass back and records a track on banjo, and the group is off again for more great adventures.
Benoit Corboz: Hammond, Fender Rhodes, Piano
Marcello Giuliani: bass, double bass
Marc Erbetta: drums, vocals
Erik Truffaz: trumpet, vocals
Sophie Hunger: on Tracks 2 & 5, vocals
1. The Secret Of The Dead Sea 10:07
2. Let Me Go ! (Feat. Sophie Hunger) 03:11
3. Mechanic Cosmetic 05:48
4. Fujin 04:09
5. Dirge (Feat. Sophie Hunger) 03:41
6. In Between 04:38
7. Lost In Bogota 05:08
8. Balbec 06:13
9. BC One 04:29
10. Les Gens Du Voyage 05:08
11. Giuseppe 02:48
12. Dead Sea Stones 03:20
In Between: Special Edition
HotfileFileserve / Depositfiles @ 320K