Friday, November 5, 2010

Poogie Bell Band: My America (2010)

“Poogie Bell is one of those needles in the haystack” – Billy Cobham
“Poogie Bell pushes the boundaries of jam and funk into the stratosphere” – All That Jazz
Poogies new album MY AMERICA - features among others - DJ Logic - Bobby Sparks - Vincent Henry - "Patches" Stewart. MY AMERICA is Poogies 1st album for 4 years following up from the widely acclaimed "Get On The Kit".
MY AMERICA encompasses Poogies musical influences & prowess from the laid back soulful grooves of "Sparks" to the dirty funk of "Hiram" (a tribute to his friend Hiram Bullock) the pop hip hop jazz of "Clap ur Hands" ... the emotional blues laden "For Some Time Now" & the swamp tinged rhythms of "Kingston".
The sound of Poogie Bell's drums is what you hear on many of the world's finest jazz, funk, neo-soul, R&B and hip-hop records. Performer, record producer, composer, and arranger, you've heard his work with artists including Chaka Khan, Marcus Miller, Stanley Clarke, Roberta Flack, Erykah Badu, David Bowie, John Scofield, David Sanborn, Angelique Kidjo, Joe Sample, Al Jarreau, Vanessa Williams, Stanley Turrentine, Victor Wooten, and Randy Crawford.
Breaking the mold and defying the status quo, Poogie Bell is enjoying “doing his thing” and is looking forward to the rest of the world enjoying it as well.
1 - Clap Ur Hands
2 - Hiram
3 - Robochords #1
4 - Starship
5 - Sparks
6 - For Some Time Now
7 - Robochords #2
8 - Speak
9 - Kingston
10 - Quiet Afternoon
11 - Tribe
12 - Ben
13 - One Note Charlie
14 - One By One
Hotfile / Uploading / Depositfiles @ vbr